My Apple Varieties

I took a lot of time to pick out the first 2 apples on this list, about 8 months to be exact.
After I planted my first tree, I decided I wasnt going to settle for 1, but would plant a couple more trees if I could find the space, and I did. The trees were ordered from http://www.cumminsnursery.com they came bare root, and are professionally done. I highly recommend them.

Orleans Reinette:

Originated in France around the 1700’s and was a favorite of Marie Antoinette.
Rootstock is G202, which should end up being about 8-9 feet tall at maturity.

I gotta be honest, I dont know too much about this apple other than its a great unknown all purpose apple that does very well in the oven. Cristin makes a lot of pies and baked goods in the fall, and these should supply some interesting flavors. Described as nutty, citrus and vanilla undertones. I am expecting about 50-75 apples on this tree in about 5 years. I am really excited about this variety as I have never seen it around here and have heard its France’s “Cox’s Orange Pippin”. If you have ever had a Cox’s Orange Pippin, thats saying a lot. Stephen Hayes really sold me on this variety.

Its a early-ish mid season variety, ripens around September 30th to about October 15th from what I’ve read and keeps a reasonable amount of time, but shrivels without losing flavor over a period of a couple of months if not stored cold in high humidity with a poly bag. Stephen Hayes’ video about the variety is below, im really looking forward to tasting my first one, whether its out of my yard or the only other place I could find one, at Scott Farm in Vermont.

This tree probably gets the least amount of sun out of the 3 trees as its closer to the house, but on average so far, its still about 9AM to 3:30PM.

Kidd’s Orange Red: 

On rootstock G11 should mature to 7-8 feet tall. Talk about an underdog, this apple I’ve heard is really great, very easy to grow and has all of the great flavors of one of its parent’s Cox’s Orange Pippin. If you’ve had a Gala, you’ve at least had a hint of Kidd’s Orange Red, as that is where the floral flavor of Gala comes from. I like Gala a lot, but I’ve never had a Kidd’s Orange Red. I’ve been told Kidd’s Orange Red is a far superior apple in terms of flavor, but was not accepted by the fruit wholesale market as the orange/brown netted russetting is not appealing to buyers. We all eat with our eye first, and Gala wins the eye award even though the flavor is not superior. The underdog should prevail here.

Kidd’s Orange Red originated in New Zealand by James Hutton Kidd in the 1930s, as a hybrid of American Delicious and England’s Cox’s Orange Pippin. It has all of the flavor from Cox’ Orange Pippin from what im told and the added sweetness from the Delicious. This should be our best apple IMO, it gets the most sun in the yard and has a great pedigree for flavor an utility. Sun from around 7:30AM to 4PM.

Ripens in Mid-October, but this apple may sit on the tree until the first frost to mature if needed. Our first heavy 25 degree frost usually comes last week in October or first week in November. I have a suspicion this will be my favorite apple to eat as a snack.

This is another apple variety Stephen Hayes sold me on via video, it just seems like a perfect mid-season apple for us. The video is below.

Jonamac:

On rootstock G30. Should mature to 10-12 feet tall.
This apple is the one that started it all for me. A cross between a Jonathan and a MacIntosh. A semi-regular apple around here at orchards, but is usually not picked much due to MacIntosh’s popularity and seasonal overlap. Once you taste a Jonamac you will never go back to a MacIntosh. The flavor can be described as vinous like MacIntosh, but has a warm spicy almost a cinnamon type of finish, it gets that from the Jonathan. Snappy skin like the MacIntosh. Wonderful in the lunchbox as its the perfect size for snacking. They dont keep very long off the tree, maybe  6-8 weeks in storage, Thanksgiving may be pushing it.

Right now, this apple is my favorite, and it will take a truly spectacular apple to replace it at the top of my list. Early season apple, its ready 2nd week in September, but I find the fresh off the tree apples are best around the last week in September. When they’re crimson red in flesh like the picture, less than 20% green, they’re ready to eat.

This tree has a funny placement in my yard. Its going to get sun super early during growing season, from around 7:30AM to about 4:30PM but takes a break behind the neighbor’s pines from 10 to 11AM. I probably should have moved the tree 2 feet away from the tree to get it more in the sun line, but I cant reverse it now, and its not worth moving it, it will just branch out more to make up for it.

All trees get less sun as we move away from the summer solstice, especially for the Kidd’s and Jonamac after about September 1st. Cool nights help with flavor, we’ll see how well my situation works. Orleans Reinette is far enough away from the neighbor’s pines, they may not have any effect until harvest.

Thanks for reading.

This entry was posted in Apples, Fruit, Sun. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

