Shizuka Apple Review

About –  Golden Delicious cross with Indo (Same parents as Mutsu)

Shape – Tall, very large, shaped similar to Golden Delicious.
Skin – Thin, cracks easily. Greasy. Has a grassy flavor to it. Mostly yellow, some green and a red flush.
Flesh – Yellow hue, soft, similar to Golden Delicious but more crumbly break than grainy. Light oxidation, only starts to to turn slightly brown then stops. Pretty juicy.
Taste – Buttery, literally! Strong fruity flavors, almost tropical. Some type of pineapple essence. Intense sweetness, almost to the point of pucker. Some tartness but not much. Subacid. Lips are not sticky after eating, I thought they would be.

Bottom line: Flat out sweet, pushing the envelope of too sweet, but never gets there. This may be what Golden Delicious aspires to be, but never was. Very large fruit, but what I saw at the orchard was about 50% of the fruit splitting on the tree. Bees and birds had a field day. Even a few split in my chest freezer. Soft flesh, may be a turn off to some that like a snappy apple. Long stem may make spraying easier.

Fresh eating rating: 8/10 – Simply very sweet, and possibly one of the best subacid apples I’ve had. Meant for those with a sweet tooth. Im impressed.
Culinary rating: N/A – Not tested, but probably would cook similar to Golden Delicious.

This entry was posted in Apples, Fruit, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shizuka Apple Review

  1. Michelle says:

    I was visiting in the Meridianville, Alabama, area, and when driving home to Hendersonville, TN, immediately north, in Fayetteville, Tennessee, I found Monk’s Market, a farm and outdoor market owned by the greatest guy ever, George Monk. This was my first visit to this 3 generation farm, (1st gen passed away). I was honored to be given a tour by George Monk. He was knowledgeable, generously kind, and in love with growing.

    To the point, among the most beautiful produce I have ever seen in my life, I bought 2 very large, light green apples – the baskets were labeled, “Shizuka.”
    I had never seen this apple or heard of it before.
    Today is about 5 days later and I tried one for the first time, ever. OH MY WORD!
    I AM IN LOVE! This is the most delicious, thin-skinned, crisp and light, sweet but not-too-sweet apple I have ever had in my life! It has an amazing taste and texture.

    I have found my new favorite apple and want to get my hands on some seeds a grow my first fruit tree. YUM!

    I wish I had bought a bushel 😦

    Now, I am on the web searching it out and I’m going to call George Monk to find some closer to me in Hendersonville, TN.

    Here is the Monk’s Market address:
    Address: 2687 Huntsville Hwy, Fayetteville, TN 37334
    Phone:(931) 438-2795

    Michelle Turner

    • megamav says:

      Michelle, its a great apple for sure, thats why it gets an 8. Not really well known. I gave a few to a neighbor, and he said they were exceptional as a dried apple. Drying these would give them life later in the winter. Enjoy!

  2. megamav says:

    Remember, apples are not true to seed. If you plant a seed, you will get a tree that is genetically morphed at random in likeness to the 2 parents of the host and the pollen source that pollinated that apple. To get an identical replica, you will need an apple tree grafted from wood of a source tree. Read about rootstocks and scions.

    • Michelle says:

      Oh my goodness – so, not so cut and dry, eh (haha). Megamav, I do thank you for these 2 notes. It is early September, 2014, and I am again looking for Shizuka apples to buy by the bushel and may have to go visit George Monk or get them from a grower on Crow Mountain, which is closer and I believe is his supplier.
      As I was searching the web, I came to this site and read my own posting, and Megamav’s replies, which I had not read until now. Really glad to read the responses.
      Great idea to dry the fruit…dried nice a crisp so as to not have any mold growth (mold allergy..well, whose NOT allergic to mold).
      Thanks!
      Michelle Turner now from Ooltewah, TN.

    • David Gibler says:

      Will that tree bear apples and if so, would they be a unique and random “variety”?

      • megamav says:

        It will be genetically different from either parent, but borrowing traits from both, good or bad. I havent experimented with pollination projects, but with reading I have leaned that the chances of getting the same apple or better in quality somewhere in the neighborhood of 1/100,000.

        This is why its not advised to plant seeds, no matter how good the apple was that you ate. The flesh is merely a carrier for passing its genetics onto another plant.

        Much respect to Cornell/Geneva for their apple projects, it takes a tremendous amount of effort to research new varieties.

Leave a Reply

