Winter Banana – Apple Review

About –  Discovered in Indiana during the mid to late 1800’s.

Shape – Heart shaped, delicious like. Large sized apple, not as large as the largest available.
Skin –  Thin, waxy, almost greasy. Shines well, Strawberry red on yellow. Very attractive.
Flesh – Yellow, not white. Fairly dense in comparison to most other apples. Crunchy. Oxidizes at an average pace, within 10 minutes. Chewy.
Taste – I dont taste banana. Flavor is very simple, slight sweetness, slight tart, and then nothing. Woody undertone adds to the odd aftertaste. Juice is lightly grainy. “Weak sauce”. Its an apple without an identity.

Bottom line: I was expecting more, but from internet anecdotes, I should have expected less. Its popularity surely lies with its name rather than what it has to offer. Its true name should be Enigma.

Variety Note: This tree produces an abundance of pollen, and is a good pollinator.

Fresh eating rating: 3/10 – Its missing a lot in terms of flavor, but it does have good texture. With a name like Winter Banana I was expecting something more than this. Considering this variety has been around for close to 150 years now I thought there would be a lot more going for it. The name alone attracts attention at the orchard. Im glad I only picked 5 of them, these seem to be a waste of time.

Culinary rating: N/A – Havent had a chance yet, we just got these in yesterday.

DSCN0259

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Winter Banana – Apple Review

  1. Adam says:

    Eric, I’ve never seen a Winter Banana so heavily blushed. But if it is a WB, try it in December or January.

  2. megamav says:

    That was the most colored specimen. I’ve read your blog entry on Winter Banana, and how it appears, doesnt look like a typical Winter Banana. My experience with it lines up with anecdotes on the internet. Not much. Picky harvest season and poor flavor. I was surprised to see yours rated so highly. Are you certain yours are truly Winter Banana?

    • Adam says:

      My certainty is always rebuttable (and I’ve had to revise more than once). But I got my Bananas from two different sources, so I think it is likely in this case. One was an heirloom orchard curated by the Worcester County Horticultural Society.

      I don’t doubt that this variety can blush as profoundly as yours, just that I’ve never seen it. Faced with variation (and uncertainty), all you or I can do is report what we see and taste as honestly as we can.

      Like Arkansas Black, WB needs a few months off the tree to come into its own.

Leave a Reply

